Meeting Christ

Text from the Liturgy of St. James:

Let all mortal flesh keep silence
and with fear and trembling stand;
ponder nothing earthly-minded,
for with blessing in his hand,
Christ our God to earth descendeth
our full homage to demand.

What an aid to worship this is for me! The mystery of Christ coming to earth in the incarnation. The mystery of God coming to meet us in our worship. “Ponder nothing earthly-minded” is tough for me because my thoughts wander so quickly from the sublime to my ordinary human predicaments, I as I ponder these words I am lost in wonder and praise.

One Response

  1. A beautiful and awesome liturgy, John. What a call to worship and prayer! Awesome.

    Also, I linked to you from my blog! Check my sidebar.

Leave a Reply

