Prayer of Abandonment

Surrender to God and his will is at the heart of biblical faith. I find surrender to be paradoxical. It is natural because we were made for God and for conformity to his will; it is unnatural and difficult because of our own pride, the constant attacks from our spiritual enemy, and the myriad distractions of our surrounding culture.

So, the following prayer, written by Charles de Foucauld (French; Roman Catholic missionary and ascetic; 1858-1916) resonates deeply with my spirit and serves for me as both a call and a doorway to full surrender.

Father, I abandon myself into your hands.
Do with me whatever you will.
Whatever you may do, I thank you.
I am ready for all; I accept all.
Let only your will be done in me
and in all your creatures.

Into your hands I commend my spirit.
I offer it to you with all the love that is in my heart.
For I love you, Lord, and so want to give myself,
to surrender myself into your hands,
without reserve and with boundless confidence,
for you are my Father. Amen.

One Response

  1. In the latter part of the prayer, the line reads, “without reserve and with boundless confidence”. Do you find that it is always with such abandonment of self that the follower of Jesus is able to offer themselves? so easily? without reservation at all? Are we always able to submit to God with “boundless confidence” those areas of our life that we hold dear? Do we not in our humanness tend to believe in ourselves and our own abilities? Is it sometimes more of a struggle within the heart of a Christian?

Leave a Reply

