From Moliere to Bill Bryson

Recently I finished reading two completely different works.

One was a collection of plays by Moliere. Somewhere I had noted a reference to the fact that Moliere, the French playwright and actor, is considered to be one of the greatest masters of comedy in Western literature, so I decided that if he’s so good, it’s about time I read some of his work.

So I bought a used paperback of his plays online for one cent plus shipping! I read The School for Wives (his first great comedy and one of his best-loved), Tartuffe or The Hypocrite, Don Juan, and a few others. His characters are exaggerated, but what else would you expect in comedy?

The other book I read was A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. Here Bryson covers the broad range of science, physics, space, astronomy, paleontology and nearly everything else. He does so in an engaging way, with humor. His section on subatomic physics, where things operate on rules radically different from the observable world we live in every day, is mind-boggling.

His worldview is naturalistic and atheistic, so I take exception to some of his conclusions, but I learned so much about…nearly everything!

Have you read Moliere or Bryson? What comments do you have?

One Response

  1. I had an English professor who once recommended Moliere to me as summer reading. I remember checking it out and enjoying it at the time, but it hasn’t stuck with me. Perhaps I’ll go back again and give it another try.

    Thanks for jogging my memory.

Leave a Reply

