Update on Volcano and Travel

This is being written at 1:00 PM on Tuesday, April 20.

I had an appointment to be in WI this weekend to speak at a missions conference at New Vision Church. We have accepted as fact that we will not be home in time for me to make this connection because of an unalterable appointment with a volcanic ash cloud here in London.

The Iceland volcano, after a quieter day on Monday has gained strength today, and the wind is blowing the new ash toward UK. British Airways has not resumed any flights out of London, and will not project when flights may resume, and when they do begin, I will likely not be a top priority passenger.

If this continues for too long (whatever that is) I am not sure what I will do. I could go overland to Spain and fly home from there, but I haven’t had the nerve to check the cost of such an itinerary. Nor have I checked the cost of taking a trans-Atlantic ocean liner. And rumor has it that all rowboats out of Plymouth, England, are already spoken for.

“I” in the above paragraph actually is “we,” including JoLene, as I deem it not wise to let her in London, as lovely as this city is, while I return to USA.

Th effects of this shutdown are far-reaching. Chris Sharp and daughter Whitney are in Lusaka, Zambia, and British Airways can guarantee them a flight home on April 29. How is that for priority status?

We are now staying in the home of our friends Jay and Judy, who have said we may camp with them as long as necessary. I doubt that they have any idea what they are saying.

In their home neither the ceiling nor the floor fell in overnight, so that is encouraging. See my blog “Things Keep Changing.”

Thanks for your interest and prayers.

2 Responses

  1. Your lives seem never to be boring! I’m glad your Tuesday blog was posted to BIC-List – now I know how to follow your travels.

    • Hey, it is great to hear from you. Glad you now have our blog site info.
      Yes, boring is far from us.
      What is happening in your lives?

Leave a Reply

