Ultimate Issues

Recently, while visiting a pastor in his home, I noticed on the wall a framed copy of a portion of the Heidelberg Catechism. The pastor smiled and said, “I guess you don’t often see the Heidelberg Catechism on the wall of a Brethren in Christ pastor’s home.”

He was right.

The Heidelberg Catechism was published in 1563 as a Protestant confessional document for use in teaching Reformed Christian doctrine.The Brethren in Christ fit in the theological streams of Anabaptism, Pietism and Wesleyan holiness rather than in the Reformed tradition.

But the content of the quote on the wall was thoroughly biblical and compelling, and because of this I found myself deeply moved by it. So I am presenting it for your reflection.

Heidelberg Confession

Question 1:
What is your only comfort in life and death?

Answer:
That I with body and soul, both in life and death, am not my own, but belong to my faithful Savior Jesus Christ; who, with his precious blood, has fully satisfied for all my sins, and delivered me from all the power of the devil; and so preserves me that without the will of my heavenly Father not a hair can fall from my head; yea, that all things must be subservient to my salvation, and therefore, by his Holy Spirit, he also assures me of eternal life, and makes me sincerely willing and ready, henceforth, to live for him.

* * *

What is your comfort in life, and in what will you take comfort when the time comes for you to die?

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

