Birding in Mozambique

Our hosts, Steve and Chris Newcomer, are avid birders and have taken me out several times into several different settings. Then as part of the global workers’ retreat, many of us went on a two-hour birding hike through grasslands and into the Gorongosa Mountain.

So far I have seen 16 species that I have seen previously, such as the house sparrow, cattle egret and numerous birds that I saw in Zambia and  Botswana in 2006 when I traveled with Keith and Bethany Miller and the Manor Church youth missions trip. But I have also seen 52 new species here in Mozambique.

Here some of the special ones.

Lilac-breasted roller 1

 

Lilac-breasted roller 2

 

Lilac-breasted roller, which I have seen previously.

Red-collared widowbird 1

 

Red-collared widowbird 2

 

Red-collared widowbird. Somehow the male manages to fly, with special effort. This effort is needed only in the breeding season; for the rest of the year he has a normal, short tail.

Fire-crowned bishop

 

Fire-crowned bishop – a striking sight in the grasses.

Yellow-bellied sunbird

 

Yellow-bellied sunbird, common throughout much of southern Africa.

Green-headed Oriole

 

And this is the super-special sighting. The green-headed oriole is found on Gorongosa Mountain and nowhere else on earth. Saki van Zyl, our guide for the day, led us to the mountain where we saw several of these. The photo is even clearer than our sightings because these  bird stays high in the trees and are often hidden by foliage, but we saw and heard them.

I do not attempt bird photography, so all the spectacular shots in this blog are from the internet. It seems that some of these photos are copyrighted, but I could not find the names of the photographers or the agencies to contact, so I am using the images without being able to give the credit that I wish I could give.

If readers of this blog have a favorite bird of southern Africa, please post a reply and let me know.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

